At Oxclose Community Nursery School, learning reflects the EYFS Statutory Framework. The EYFS is about what children learn, as well as how they learn. Effective

practice is a mix of different approaches. Children learn through play, by adults modelling, by observing each other and through adult-guided learning.
Four guiding principles shape our practice:
  • Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident, and self-assured.
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers.
  • Importance of learning and development. Children develop and learn at different rates.

Learning is categorised into seven areas: three Prime and four Specific.

The Prime areas are fundamental; work together and feed through to support development in all other areas. The Prime areas are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the Prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning. The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Underpinning the Early Years curriculum are the Characteristics of Effective Learning. Children are given opportunities to play and explore, engage in active learning, and create and think critically.